Posts

Loves Times Infinity by Lana Clarke

Image
 Love Times Infinity by Lana Clarke YA Contemporary/romance  July 26th 2022 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 stars 368 pages TW panic attacks, suicide attempt, sexual assault, alcoholism, discussion of abortion Synopsis -  Lane Clarke's debut LOVE TIMES INFINITY, about a 16-year-old girl busy with big dreams for college and the biggest crush on the school's new basketball superstar—but when her estranged mother suddenly reappears in her life, she faces important questions about the chances she's willing to take on herself and her future.  My review -  thank you to @theNOVL for an arc copy! it's for promo purposes but this is my honest review! Love Times Infinity is a book about forgiveness and believing that you are deserving of love. This is a YA contemporary romance from a debut author! It has black rep, Jewish rep, sapphic rep and mental health rep. This book gets heavy at times so check TWs. I was happy to see a character struggling with mental health in therapy, we need more books to show

Blood and Moonlight by Erin Beaty

Image
Blood and Moonlight by Erin Beaty Book Tour! YA Fantasy/Romance/Thriller June 28th 2022 ⭐⭐⭐.5/5 stars 448 pages TW death, murder, violence, SA, talk of mental illness  Synopsis -  In this medieval YA fantasy thriller, an orphan with a secret, magical sight gets caught between a mysterious genius and the serial killer he’s hunting. Rising above the city of Collis is the holy Sanctum. And watching over its spires is Catrin, an orphan girl with unique skills—for she alone can spot the building’s flaws in construction before they turn deadly. But when Catrin witnesses a murderer escaping the scene of his crime, she’s pulled into the web of a dangerous man who will definitely strike again. Assigned to capture the culprit is the mysterious, brilliant, and enigmatic Simon, whose insights into the mind of a killer are frighteningly accurate. As the grisly crimes continue, Catrin finds herself caught between murderer and detective while hiding her own secret—a supernatural sight granted by the

Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid

Image
 Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid  Adult Fantasy/Gothic Horror  June 21st 2022 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 stars 368 pages Jewish author! Tw for abuse, eating disorder, SA, self-herm, animal death Synopsis -  From highly acclaimed bestselling author Ava Reid comes a gothic horror retelling of The Juniper Tree, set in another time and place within the world of The Wolf and the Woodsman, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her wizard father, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Catherynne M. Valente. A gruesome curse. A city in upheaval. A monster with unquenchable appetites.  Marlinchen and her two sisters live with their wizard father in a city shifting from magic to industry. As Oblya’s last true witches, she and her sisters are little more than a tourist trap as they treat their clients with archaic remedies and beguile them with nostalgic charm. Marlinchen spends her days divining secrets in exchange for rubles and trying to placate her tyrannical, xenophob

Home Field Advantage by Dahlia Adler

Image
  Home Field Advantage By Dahlia Adler YA Contemporary Sports Romance  June 7th 2022 ⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 stars 304 pages polysexual & lesbian rep  Synopsis: In this sweet and funny new f/f romance from the author of Cool for the Summer, a cheerleader and the school’s newest quarterback are playing to win, but might lose their hearts in the process. Amber McCloud’s dream is to become cheer captain at the end of the year, but it’s an extra-tall order to be joyful and spirited when the quarterback of your team has been killed in a car accident. For both the team and the squad, watching Robbie get replaced by newcomer Jack Walsh is brutal. And when it turns out Jack is actually short for Jaclyn, all hell breaks loose. The players refuse to be led by a girl, the cheerleaders are mad about the changes to their traditions, and the fact that Robbie’s been not only replaced but outshined by a QB who wears a sports bra has more than a few Atherton Alligators in a rage. Amber tries for some semblance of u

Summer's Edge Dana Mele

Image
  Summer's Edge By Dana Male YA Horror  May 31st 2022 ⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 stars 352 pages sapphic rep!  Synopsis:  I Know What You Did Last Summer   meets The Haunting of Hill House  in this atmospheric, eerie teen thriller following an estranged group of friends being haunted by their friend who died last summer. Emily Joiner was once part of an inseparable group—she was a sister, a best friend, a lover, and a rival. Summers without Emily were unthinkable. Until the fire burned the lake house to ashes with her inside. A year later, it’s in Emily’s honor that Chelsea and her four friends decide to return. The house awaits them, meticulously rebuilt. Only, Chelsea is haunted by ghostly visions. Loner Ryan stirs up old hurts and forces golden boy Chase to play peacemaker. Which has perfect hostess Kennedy on edge as eerie events culminate in a stunning accusation: Emily’s death wasn’t an accident. And all the clues needed to find the person responsible are right here. As old betrayals rise to the

Queerly Beloved

Image
Queerly Beloved  By Susie Dumond   4/5 stars TW for homophobia   Genre - LGBT+ contemporary romance  Published May 23rd 2022   400 pages   Rep - lesbian, gay Review - I've seen Queerly Beloved at my local indie bookstore & the airport, but finally got my hold in at the library! I usually read YA romcoms, so adult is a bit different for me, but it was still really enjoyable. This book follows Amy after she gets outed at the religious bakery she works at and fired. At the same time, she starts dating a girl named Charley. I actually liked reading more about Amy finding a job she's good at/accepted at than I did the romance. If you like baking books or weddings, you'll enjoy this!  I wish more had been done about the homophobic bakery, but that's also realistic to the year we were in sadly.  I did like the conversations on LGBT+ marriages.  I remember being twelve and hearing about that on Tumblr and being so happy. 

The Many Half Lived Lives Of Sam Sylvester

Image
  The Many Half Lived Lives Of Sam Sylvester by Maya MacGreger   5/5 stars TW for panic attacks, bulling, murder, misgendering  Genre - YA horror Published May 24th 2021   304 pages   Rep - neurodivergent, asexual, nonbinary The Many Half Lived Lives of Sam Sylvester is my new favorite YA Mystery/thriller book. Sam is an autistic, non-binary teen. They move schools after something did something horrible to them at their old school. This book also highlights mental health and PTSD. Both Sam and their father are on the asexual spectrum. Sam's father is literally the best dad <3 I love seeing supportive parents in books. They also both get migraines and as a fellow neurodivergent asexual migraine sufferer I ate this book up. I also loved all the Steven Universe references. If you like found family with lots of diverse characters you'll love this!